Prize Advisory Panel

Our Prize Advisory Panel features experts in diagnostic tests, antibiotic resistance and global health. 

Below is the list of experts that are sitting on the Prize Advisory Panel. These are some of the most eminent professionals in their fields and will be responsible for the main judging of the Longitude Prize, as well as providing support and advice to the Longitude programme team and Longitude Committee.

Full details of the judging process can be found in our Prize Rules.

Prize Advisory Panel

Professor Chris Butler (Chair)

Professor of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Professor Till Bachmann

Professor of Molecular Diagnostics and Infection, University of Edinburgh

Doris-Ann Williams, MBE

Chief Executive, BIVDA

Dr. Zarir F Udwadia

Consultant Chest Physician at the Hinduja Hospital, Mumbai

Dr. Paul Chapman

Partner, Marks & Clerk LLP

Dr. Abdul Ghafur

Coordinator, "Chennai Declaration", Apollo Honorary Adjunct Associate Professor, Consultant in Infectious Diseases and Clinical Microbiology

Dr. Patrick SM Dunlop

Lecturer, Ulster University

Professor Herman Goossens

Head of the Department for Microbiology, Antwerp University Hospital

Martin Kiernan

Research Fellow at the Richard Wells Research Centre at the University of West London and is Director of Clinical Research and Education for Gama Healthcare.

Professor Rosanna Peeling

Professor and Chair of Diagnostics Research, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Richard Smith

Professor of Health System Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Helen Lambert

Professor of Medical Anthropology, University of Bristol

Professor Lucy Yardley

Professor of Health Psychology, Director of the Centre for Applications of Health Psychology (CAHP) , University of Southampton

Rob Taylor

Consultant & Senior Business Strategist at Providence Health & Services

Professor Matthew Thompson

Professor of Family Medicine, Vice Chair for Research, University of Washington

Dr. Penny Wilson

Senior Specialist, AMR, Vaccines and Global Health

Dr. Diana Tay

Business Development Manager, Innovations, Wellcome Trust

Betsy Wonderly Trainor

Diagnostics Alliance Director, CARB-X team 

Márcio Silveira da Fonseca

Infectious Diseases Medical Advisor - Access Campaign