Collaboration funding for UK researchers to go to India

26 Mar 2018

Written by Longitude Prize Team

The Academy of Medical Sciences has introduced an exciting opportunity for UK researchers in antimicrobial resistance to travel to India to collaborate and develop relationships in biomedical research.

The Academy regards this scheme as a particularly timely one given the seriousness of the threat, to human and animal health, posed by antimicrobial resistance.

The call aims to strengthen research links between the UK and India, and the Academy is keen to see applications not just from biomedical scientists, but also potentially from experts working in fields as diverse as agriculture, the environment, and social and veterinary sciences.

Over five years, 25 professors and researchers will be supported in travel and subsistence to visit India for a two-week lecture tour to develop long-term relationships with Indian institutions. The call will be open annually and aims to not only build these relationships, but contribute to the wider awareness of antimicrobial resistance.

“I am thrilled that the Yusuf and Farida Hamied foundation are supporting concrete actions to address antimicrobial resistance through this exciting new partnership with the UK and India.”

– Professor Dame Sally Davies

Applicants will:

be a Professor or senior group leader, based at a UK research institution, wishing to develop a collaboration with a researcher in India in the area of AMR.

need to have a contract of employment that extends beyond the date for which funding is being sought.

need to have identified a suitable host in India to support your planned activities.

Applications for the visiting professorship scheme will be assessed on the basis of their potential to strengthen UK-India research collaborations in AMR, increase awareness, and contribute to the development of robust interventions. The first awards will be announced in summer 2018.

The programme will also support two major international scientific meetings on AMR, one in the UK and one in India.

Deadline: Friday 06 April 2018, 16.00 GMT.